Books

I Hunt Killers, by Barry Lyga

735be78aaf4e19f1f35b44bc0cd7740f

Rating: 5 Stars

Oh. My. God. I don’t even know what to say about this book. Just. Wow.

I went into this book expecting it to be somewhat good, based on the raving reviews on Goodreads. What I didn’t expect was an edge-of-your-seat psychological thriller unlike anything I’ve ever read before.

I Hunt Killers is not realistic. Don’t expect it to be. The characters and situation are completely unlike what happens in real life that you just have to let go of your criticism and that voice in your head that says, this is so unrealistic and accept the book for what it is.

First, the plot: Lyga crafts an excellent story, with subtle details revealed at just the right times to keep the story going. Not being a huge fan of Criminal Minds, I didn’t think that a story about a serial killer would enrapture me as much as it did. Lyga’s writing is not only great, it’s hilarious as well. The comic relief makes this an entertaining read in what otherwise would have been a dark story.

The characters: Our main character, Jasper Dent, is just pure awesome. Being raised by a serial killer who brought him up to be his protegé, he has his own inner demons, even four years after his father Billy’s arrest. Billy’s voice is with him throughout the entire book, as hard as Jazz tries to suppress it. His internal conflict makes for a wonderful, layered character that is fascinating to read about.

Other than Jasper, our side characters are well-developed and allow for a well-built story. Howie, Jazz’s best friend, gives us plenty of humor and adds comic relief in a story with such a dark premise. Connie, Jazz’s girlfriend, is Jazz’s rock, his solid ground when he slips into the darker parts of his mind.

Considering that this is a serial killer book, there is plenty of gore running through these pages. It’s not for everyone, there are quite a few disturbing scenes. Me, being the squeamish reader I am, found that I could not read this while eating. I don’t recommend doing that. But I got through it, quite satisfied in fact, so I highly recommend this book to just about everyone who’d like an intense read.

Overall, I Hunt Killers is an excellent book that everyone should try. It’s humor, mystery, and characters tie everything together in a flawless way. I have hardly any issues with this book, I’m not even complaining about the gore, as everything Lyga does is essential for this book to work. I will be reading the sequel in the very near future, you won’t want to miss out on this book!

Review by Aliza London 

