Books

Partials, by Dan Wells

Actual Rating: 4.5 stars

This is one of those books where I wasn’t really able to focus on the world building, character developement, or plot, because I was just so caught up in the story. But I will try my best.

Story: Wow! Just wow. I wonder if I have said this before, but if I were to write a book, I would have written it this way! I was never really into hardcore science-fiction(which is exactly what this is), but this was one of the most addicting novels I had ever read! I don’t really understand all these bad reviews and ratings, because I thoroughly enjoyed the story, the plot, and everything. The writing didn’t have anything special about it, but something grabbed me.

World-building: Okay, yeah, this is where it goes slightly downhill. I won’t address the problems here, but if you are one to nitpick the small details, then the world-building would have shattered the book for you. It didn’t really bother me though, if you just focus on the story, it will be fine.

Character: I loved the characters, they were all so refreshing and even the supporting characters that didn’t have much background were likable. I loved Kira, not because she was very strong and intelligent, but that combined with the fact that she had flaws. At times she was a bit arrogant and short-tempered, which only made her more realistic and human-like. You can’t like someone all the time right? I mean, something has to piss you off.

Overall, this is a highly-addicting book and I would recommend this to fans of real science-fiction(where the romance doesn’t drive the book). If you really focus on the tiny things, then you probably won’t like it, but I promise you, once you start reading, the story takes over and the rest isn’t really relevant. πŸ™‚

Review by Haven Faye

