Books

Die For Me, by Amy Plum

9462812

Actual Rating: 3.5 stars

“I had feared that love would make me vulnerable. Instead I felt empowered.”

Blurb: In the City of Lights, two star-crossed lovers battle a fate that is destined to tear them apart again and again for eternity.

When Kate Mercier’s parents die in a tragic car accident, she leaves her life–and memories–behind to live with her grandparents in Paris. For Kate, the only way to survive her pain is escaping into the world of books and Parisian art. Until she meets Vincent.

Mysterious, charming, and devastatingly handsome, Vincent threatens to melt the ice around Kate’s guarded heart with just his smile. As she begins to fall in love with Vincent, Kate discovers that he’s a revenant–an undead being whose fate forces him to sacrifice himself over and over again to save the lives of others. Vincent and those like him are bound in a centuries-old war against a group of evil revenants who exist only to murder and betray. Kate soon realizes that if she follows her heart, she may never be safe again.

When I first started reading Die For Me, I thought of Stephanie Meyer’s Twilight, and that’s usually not a good thing because…. it’s Twilight. But, you know what? I actually kind of liked this!

The story progressed well, and it had just the right amount of everything, although I didn’t like how quickly the truth came out to Kate. It felt like the Revenants make the mistake of telling humans what they are somewhat often. The writing was also very nice. The descriptions of Paris were vivid and well-done, and not boring.


The characters needed some serious development. Kate was somewhat likable at first, she was sarcastic and witty, and thought for herself. But later on in the book, she just became bland. There was nothing to her besides some occasional sarcasm. Another part that annoyed me is how everybody suddenly likes her. I think that Plum tried to make Kate… er, “humble”, but it didn’t work. Every single person has to comment on how beautiful she is, and they already love her before she’s spoken a word. The minute Vincent brings her in, all the Revenants start swooning and crowding around her like she’s freaking Beyonce!

Vincent, I was bound to hate, and I did. Ever since I read the description of his charming and mysteriousness, I knew he wasn’t going to work for me. Unlike Kate, I don’t find stalking attractive.

And I won’t tell you about the romance, because you’ve already read Twilight.

At this point you might be wondering why I gave this book a 3.5 star rating, and here’s why: World-Building. Plum’s characters might not be the best, but she can create a world. The Revenants and their purpose was uniquely and perfectly explained, and even though I’m not a particular fan of zombies, Plum definitely made me one. The whole idea of it is so intriguing and captivating, you just can’t help but get drawn in!

Overall, Die For Me might not be the best book in terms of characterization and romance, but the world-building and its unique take on the undead is ultimately what saves this book from destruction.

This review can also be found on my Goodreads account here.

-Haven

2 thoughts on “Die For Me, by Amy Plum”

Leave a Reply

