New Releases

Featured Post: New Releases in YA for April 2015

coming-soon

Sometimes, after scrolling through endless lists of Goodreads recommendations, any reader can (understandably) feel bored and overwhelmed. Either none of the books sound like what you currently want to read, or all of them do, and you don’t know what to do. Well, the YA world is constantly getting new additions, and if you want o read something fresh and new, you’re in the right place. Here is a list of a few of the new books coming out in April.

1. An Ember in the Ashes, by Sabaa Tahir – Coming April 28, 2015

20560137The Blurb: Set in a terrifyingly brutal Rome-like world, An Ember in the Ashes is an epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.

LAIA is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire’s greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution.

ELIAS is the academy’s finest soldier—and secretly, its most unwilling. Elias is considering deserting the military, but before he can, he’s ordered to participate in a ruthless contest to choose the next Martial emperor.

When Laia and Elias’s paths cross at the academy, they find that their destinies are more intertwined than either could have imagined and that their choices will change the future of the empire itself.

This is my most anticipated book of this month. After reading the first few chapters online, I was completely hooked. The premise is very similar to Legend, one of my favorite books of all time, and according to reviewers, this one is even better. I have high expectations for this book, hopefully it won’t disappoint!

2. Rogue, by Julie Kagawa – Coming April 28, 2015

17342749The Blurb: Ember Hill left the dragon organization Talon to take her chances with rebel dragon Cobalt and his crew of rogues. But Ember can’t forget the sacrifice made for her by the human boy who could have killed her—Garret Xavier Sebastian, a soldier of the dragonslaying Order of St. George, the boy who saved her from a Talon assassin, knowing that by doing so, he’d signed his own death warrant.

Determined to save Garret from execution, Ember must convince Cobalt to help her break into the Order’s headquarters. With assassins after them and Ember’s own brother helping Talon with the hunt, the rogues find an unexpected ally in Garret and a new perspective on the underground battle between Talon and St. George.

A reckoning is brewing and the secrets hidden by both sides are shocking and deadly. Soon Ember must decide: Should she retreat to fight another day…or start an all-out war?

Talon was a great book by one of my favorite authors, I’m really excited to see where the series goes with this. I mean, dragons that can pose as humans? This book is literally begging to be bought. 🙂

3. The Girl at Midnight, by Melissa Grey – Coming April 28, 2015

20345202The Blurb: For readers of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Leigh Bardugo’s Shadow and Bone, The Girl at Midnight is the story of a modern girl caught in an ancient war.

Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.

Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.

Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, but if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants . . . and how to take it.

But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.

This book definitely sounds like it’ll be a hit with fantasy-lovers, combining two favorites of the YA genre, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and The Mortal Instruments. I’m a sucker for a good fantasy story, and it’ll be a nice break from the typical fantasy things like faeries, angels, etc.

4. Challenger Deep, by Neal Shusterman – Coming April 21, 2015

18075234The Blurb: Caden Bosch is on a ship that’s headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench.

Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior.

Caden Bosch is designated the ship’s artist in residence, to document the journey with images.

Caden Bosch pretends to join the school track team but spends his days walking for miles, absorbed by the thoughts in his head.

Caden Bosch is split between his allegiance to the captain and the allure of mutiny.

Caden Bosch is torn.

A captivating and powerful novel that lingers long beyond the last page, Challenger Deep is a heartfelt tour de force by one of today’s most admired writers for teens.

Neal Shusterman’s Unwind series is one of my favorites, I love how he always writes about disturbing issues that really make you think. In Challenger Deep‘s case, mental illness. I knew I had to read this book the instant I heard that it was based off of Neal Shusterman’s own experiences with his son developing a mental illness in his teens. Definitely a must-read, I hope it doesn’t disappoint.

5. In a World Just Right, by Jen Brooks – Coming April 28, 2015

24799245The Blurb: Imagination takes on new meaning for a uniquely talented teen in this debut novel that is a breathtaking blend of contemporary, fantasy, and romance.

Sometimes Jonathan Aubrey wishes he could just disappear. And as luck—or fate—would have it, he can. Ever since coming out of a coma as a kid, he has been able to create alternate worlds. Worlds where he is a superhero, or a ladies’ man, or simply a better version of himself. That’s the world he’s been escaping to most since sophomore year, a world where he has everything he doesn’t have in real life: friends, a place of honor on the track team, passing grades, and most importantly, Kylie Simms as his girlfriend.

But when Jonathan confuses his worlds senior year and tries to kiss the real Kylie Simms, everything unravels. The real Kylie actually notices Jonathan…and begins obsessing over him. The fantasy version of Kylie struggles to love Jonathan as she was created to do, and the consequences are disastrous. As his worlds collide, Jonathan must confront the truth of his power and figure out where he actually belongs—before he loses both Kylies forever.

This sounds like a cute romance novel that I would read. The ratings are absolutely amazing, it seems that everyone who’s already read the book loved it. it sounds different and intriguing, a perfect blend that I will definitely read. 🙂

6. Denton Little’s Deathdate, by Lance Rubin – Coming April 14, 2015

18883231The Blurb: Fans of John Green and Matthew Quick: Get ready to die laughing.

Denton Little’s Deathdate takes place in a world exactly like our own except that everyone knows the day they will die. For 17-year-old Denton Little, that’s tomorrow, the day of his senior prom.

Despite his early deathdate, Denton has always wanted to live a normal life, but his final days are filled with dramatic firsts. First hangover. First sex. First love triangle (as the first sex seems to have happened not with his adoring girlfriend, but with his best friend’s hostile sister. Though he’s not totally sure. See: first hangover.) His anxiety builds when he discovers a strange purple rash making its way up his body. Is this what will kill him? And then a strange man shows up at his funeral, claiming to have known Denton’s long-deceased mother, and warning him to beware of suspicious government characters…. Suddenly Denton’s life is filled with mysterious questions and precious little time to find the answers.

Debut author Lance Rubin takes us on a fast, furious, and outrageously funny ride through the last hours of a teenager’s life as he searches for love, meaning, answers, and (just maybe) a way to live on.

This happens to be the only book in this post that I’ve actually read, thanks to NetGalley. I’ll post a full review later, but overall it’s quirky and cute, and although the concept’s not terribly original, Rubin does a pretty good job.

Here are 6 new books coming out this month, and although there many more, I hope this helped you decide what to read this month, and what to look forward to. Enjoy! 🙂

~Aliza

This post can also be accessed anytime at the “New Releases” page at the top of the page.

Advertisements

5 thoughts on “Featured Post: New Releases in YA for April 2015”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s