Books, YA Fiction

Shiver, by Maggie Steifvater

6068551Actual Rating: 3.5 stars

“I’d found heaven and grabbed it as tightly as I could, but it was unraveling, an insubstantial thread sliding between my fingers, too fine to hold.”

Blurb: For years, Grace has watched the wolves in the woods behind her house. One yellow-eyed wolf—her wolf—is a chilling presence she can’t seem to live without.

Meanwhile, Sam has lived two lives: In winter, the frozen woods, the protection of the pack, and the silent company of a fearless girl. In summer, a few precious months of being human… until the cold makes him shift back again.

Now, Grace meets a yellow-eyed boy whose familiarity takes her breath away. It’s her wolf. It has to be. But as winter nears, Sam must fight to stay human—or risk losing himself, and Grace, forever.

I am a bit mixed about this one. While I didn’t enjoy the characters and romance as much as I wanted to, the story and ending somewhat satisfied me.

The story as a whole was kind of entertaining and well-developed. I haven’t read a lot of werewolf stories, but I’ve always been interested and I like this take on them. The writing was actually very beautiful, but this kind of writing was almost every sentence of the book, and it was difficult to keep up with it, since it was made instantly boring and tedious.

Wonderful, another set of characters that managed to disappoint. No, they don’t disappoint me, they baffle me!

Grace falls in love with a wolf. A dog. No, this is not the “oh, he’s my pet, I love him so much” kind of animal love, it’s the “I want to kiss you and sleep in the same bed together” kind of love. Am I the only who thinks this is the most ridiculous and unrealistic ever imagined? Besides the fact that she has a supernatural boyfriend, there is nothing to Grace. Nothing. Steifvater depicts her as a boy-obsessed neglectful girl who has no life outside Sam. Doesn’t Grace ever think about her parents? Her life? Her ambition? Pfft, no. Because it’s not important, people!

Sam was….different. He was more sensitive, gentle, and thoughtful. I like how Steifvater made him different from usual male characters in the YA genre, but sadly, Sam didn’t have the swoon-worthy factor that I was looking for. He needed a little more pizzazz, something to make us fall in love with him.

The parents annoyed me to no end. It made me want to throw a rock at them and yell “IF YOU DON’T PLAN TO TAKE CARE OF YOUR KIDS DON’T HAVE THEM” in their faces. This was the only time I sympathized with Grace, because of her neglectful, oblivious, and stupid parents. YA PNR authors, please, don’t create ignorant parents just so your characters can sleep in a bed together and go unnoticed.

The romance was classic insta-love, and although what followed after was sweet, I disliked it anyway. Most of Shiver consisted of a bunch of sweet moments, and that was it. Usually I like seeing some funny moments between couples, even if I hate them, because I like to laugh, but Sam and Grace were so devoted to each other that it made me sick. They weren’t a second apart, and when they were, they were thinking about each other. It was like they had no personal lives.

Overall, Shiver isn’t a bad book, but it would have been better with improvements to the characters and romance. I would recommend this to fans of Twilight(mostly ones on Team Jacob), and fans of romance. The next book is on my TBR list, but I’m just reading for more werewolf lore.

This review can also be found on my Goodreads here.

-Haven 

4 thoughts on “Shiver, by Maggie Steifvater”

  1. I haven’t read the book, and after reading your review, I don’t think I will. The book’s plot, according to you, lacked depth. Did the female protagonist have a back story at all? Without certain traits or personal character growth, the characters and story will run flat and lack meaningful connections with readers. Nice book review!!! Follow me at readwithmeromancenovels.wordpress.com

    1. I personally don’t recommend it. It is, just a romance novel, and not a good one either. The characters were actually very bland and lacking personality, because the only thing somewhat developed was the romance, and the minimal werewolf lore that there was. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

