Books, YA Fiction

End of Days, by Susan Ee

3.75 Stars

I… I just don’t know what to say, I’m that disappointed

The Blurb: End of Days is the explosive conclusion to Susan Ee’s bestselling Penryn & the End of Days trilogy.

After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all.

When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path toward war. As unlikely alliances form and strategies shift, who will emerge victorious? Forced to pick sides in the fight for control of the earthly realm, Raffe and Penryn must choose: Their own kind, or each other?

The third book in the Angelfall series was supposed to be epic. All loose ends were supposed to come together in an explosive and ultimate whirlpool of emotions. I was supposed to laugh, cry, and swoon. Unfortunately, and I’ve never been more upset to say this, but I felt none of those things.

I did, however, give this book a 3.75 star rating. This is purely because of my love for the previous books plus the fact that the writing was still pretty good. But overall, this made me very upset, in more ways than one.

End of Days picks up with our beloved Penryn and Raffe in the third book of the Angelfall series. This time, though, there’s a catch. Our wonderfully original plot and characters become card-board cutouts, losing their personalities and just about everything I loved about them.

Plot wise, this book wasn’t bad. It follows a fairly interesting story, where pieces of Raffe’s past become more important plot points. When I look back on it, I don’t feel like a ton happened before the big “this is where everything goes down” battle, but it kept me reading, which is an accomplishment, considering my busy schedule lately.

The characters, *hold on while I scream* experienced horrifying personality shifts. Penryn had held my “Best female heroine” title for a very long time, because of her strength and personality. This time, she lost all of it, succumbing to the pulls of the typical whiny female heroine instead. There’s this one scene where she’s completely consumed with thoughts of how she wants Raffe to freaking caress her breast, which is not only monumentally stupid considering the situation with the world ending, but almost made me throw my e-reader across the room. After that, this was me the whole time:

Raffe has always been the recipient of all my swooning, and I was ultra-excited to hopefully see his snarky dialogue and overall amazingness in this installment. Unfortunately, I was disappointed in this regard as well, something I didn’t think was possible. Raffe has officially transformed into a sappy sap-ball, meaning he’s constantly gushing about Penryn and making out with her in the most inappropriate situations. The loss of one of my favorite characters in the entire YA world is what prompted me to write this horribly scathing review.

I’ve already discussed my feelings about the romance, but overall, it became a typical YA romance. There was plenty of making out(even though there was only one kiss in total in the first two books), random gushy complimenting, and overall, a lot of stupidity(probably because of the overwhelming love-sickness). Normally, I don’t mind all this, but because this is freaking Penryn and Raffe, I thought they were above normality. It was heartbreaking to see my favorite YA couple be reduced to this, although I will admit that there were some very fangirl-worthy scenes.

I wanted to like this book. I really, really did. But Susan Ee reached an amazing high in Angellfall, and nothing has quite lived up to that, including End of Days. Honestly, this review is quite a bit too harsh, considering that the book was well written, but I guess that I just had really high expectations. My suggestion is that you read Angellfall, and google what happens after.

~Aliza

Leave a Reply

