Original Post, YA Fiction

Shadowhunters TV Show: Casting Overview!

shadowhunters

Hey peeps! So, if you Cassandra Clare fans haven’t heard, The Mortal Instruments series is going to be adapted into a TV show. The show will be called “Shadowhunters” and will air on ABC Family in 2016. Every fan has pretty much heard about the The Mortal Instruments: City Of Bones movie from 2013, starring Lily Collins and Jamie Campbell Bower, and most are disappointed by the result, including me. Since the movie bombed at the box office and failed to satisfy fans of the book, executive producers McG and Ed Decter have decided to reboot it into a TV show. So, today, I have decided to do something different and go over the casting of “Shadowhunters”.

1) Kate McNamara as Clary Fray

McNamara has previously acquired small guest parts in many TV shows, especially Disney. She will also be playing Sonya, one of the leaders of Group B in The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner Series) movie. I am really excited about this casting, McNamara really seems to fit the description of Clary. Lily Collins actually did a good job as Clary Fray in the movie version, but of course, didn’t fit the physical description. I’m glad this actress at least looks like Clary; now we just have to wait and see how she acts!

2) Dominic Sherwood as Jace Wayland

 Sherwood has participated in many small roles but is best known for playing Christian Ozera in the movie adaptation of YA book Vampire Academy. I personally think he looks like a slightly rougher Jace, but I think he will do a better job than Jamie Campbell Bower. Hopefully he brings Jace’s sass to the table, because that is the key ingredient here. Bower definitely fit the description for Jace, but he said everything a bit monotonous in my opinion, so it took away the sass factor. Anyway, I am excited for Sherwood to play the role.

3) Matthew Daddario as Alec Lightwood

Daddario is best known for his roles in Delivery Man and When The Game Stands Tall, and he is also the brother of Alexandra Daddario, who is best known for playing Annabeth Chase in the Percy Jackson movies. He’s not exactly how I imaged Alec, but he would work. I think Keven Zegers from the movie version played the character fine, but he seemed to be a little old for the role. Maybe a younger actor can bring a different side to Alec.

4) Emeraude Toubia as Isabelle Lightwood

Toubia is an actress and model best known for making appearances in some Spanish shows. I didn’t particularly imagine Isabelle this way, but I can definitely see Toubia as Isabelle. I think Jemima West did a good job as Isabelle, but I think the movie should have experienced more of her sassy and vulnerable side. Most of the time in the movie she was just fighting, which was the case with Alec also. Anyway, I am excited for Toubia to play the role, and she better get it right because Isabelle is one of my favorite characters.

5) Alberto Rosende as Simon Lewis

Rosende has many appearances in several TV shows and is best known for his recurring character in the crime drama Blue Bloods. Simon is one of my favorite characters. I pretty much drooled over him more than I drooled over Jace or Magnus. I was also one of those people who loved Robert Sheehan as Simon. He was one of the actors that the casting directors got right, and I actually pushed on watching the movie because of him. I would do anything to keep Sheehan, but Rosende… isn’t too bad. Looking at him with the glasses on, he certainly fits the description for Simon. Hopefully he doesn’t butcher the character. 😛

6) Harry Shum, Jr. as Magnus Bane

I was a bit skeptical about the casting of this Glee alum at first, but I’ve come to like this guy. Godfrey Gao looked like Magnus, but completely missed out on his sass and character, which is what makes us love Magnus in the first place. I am a-okay with this casting, I like how the casting directors didn’t miss out on Magnus’ part-Indonesian heritage (which many people seem to forget) and I really hope they write him a good script, because Magnus is not Magnus without his sass.

7) Isaiah Mustafa as Luke Garroway

Mustafa is best known for his role in Horrible Bosses and those Old Spice commercials (the man your man could smell like). Now, I know what you are thinking. Luke isn’t black! But seriously guys, as long as the man does a good job, I really don’t care. Changes are bound to come whenever you adapt a book into a movie/TV show, and although I thought Aidan Turner made a perfect Luke, I’m excited to see what Mustafa brings to the table.

8) Maxim Roy as Jocelyn Fray

Canadian actress Maxim Roy is best known for making an innumerable amount of appearances on various Canadian television shows. I don’t really have a particular feeling toward Lena Headey’s acting as Jocelyn in the TMI movie, but I do feel that Roy will do better. She has a tough and no-nonsense look, as well as a caring, responsible, and maternal look. I am excited to see what Roy can do.

9) Alan Van Sprang as Valentine Morgenstern

Alan Van Sprang is best known for playing Sir Francis Bryan in The Tudors and King Henry in Reign. He bares a striking resemblance to Jonathan Rhys-Meyers (Valentine in TMI movie), in my opinion. Rhys-Meyers performance in the movie was okay, I think he showed more of his malicious and power-hungry side (which Valentine has), but kind of left out emotion. Valentine is a cunning master of disguise, and I feel like Rhys-Meyers should have added some manipulation action to his acting (especially while telling Jace “the truth” about him and Clary). I feel like Van Sprang will do a fine job, he fits the description and has a history of playing evil people (his character in Reign).

That’s it peeps! I hope you enjoyed this casting overview. Allow me to keep you posted in all the new details and news on the show. Let me know what you think of the new cast in the comments, and see you next time! 🙂

-Haven

Leave a Reply

