Books, Original Post, Tag, YA Fiction

The Ultimate Book Tag

Hi peeps, it’s Haven! Today I am back with another book tag, like I promised (a long time ago), and it is called the Ultimate Book Tag. This tag was created by Megan on Goodreads.

Q: Do you get sick while reading in the car?
A: I get sick while reading in the car, but not when reading in the bus. I try to avoid reading in a vehicle entirely, because it’s not good for you, but yeah, it’s pretty weird.

Q: Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you?
A: I usually don’t pay attention to the writing style, but I think Gabrielle Zevin’s style pretty unique. I read All These Things I’ve Done (and reviewed it) a while back, and despite it being a dystopian book, the writing style is surprisingly straightforward and blunt. This is different for me, because usually books set in a fantasy or dystopian world contain more lyrical and flowy writing (does that make sense?).

Q: Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.
A: I honestly don’t know why everyone compares these two, since they are so different. I haven’t read the Harry Potter series (I’m getting ready for all the tomatoes you’re about to throw at me haha), I’ve started it when I was young but I found it a little boring so I put it aside… and never came back to it. I was just more into realistic fiction when I was younger, so it’s understandable. I was okay with Twilight when I first read it, but after reading more and gaining more insight, I didn’t like it. I’ve read books like Twilight that I’ve hated, so I’m not experiencing Twilight Saga again. So, I guess I would go with Harry Potter. I have to read it eventually. 😀

Q: Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?
A: I need a backpack when I go to school, so yeah. Besides books, I carry 2 binders, one for each day (block schedule), a pencil pouch, headphones, and my lunch.

Q: Do you smell your books?
A: Nope. I’m being completely honest. I’ve only bought a few books (I’m a library person), and all I’ve done is read them. But, the next rare occasion where I buy a book… I might try it. 😀

Q: Books with or without little illustrations?
A: I haven’t read a lot Middle Grade/ YA books with illustrations, but I’ve always wanted to. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld (which I DNF’d) had some illustrations which I enjoyed, and they kept me going for most of the book. I plan to read some of these books in the future, but many of them aren’t YA, and I have no clue when I’m going to pick up Middle Grade again.

Q: What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)
A: I would say The Selection. I liked it while reading it, but after looking back and reading its sequels, I realized a lot of elements needed work.

Q: Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!
A: I remember my friend and I were huge Lemony Snicket fangirls when we were in 5th grade. We did a bunch of research on the Snickets, Baudelaires, etc. We barely “uncovered the secrets”, but it was fun looking at the website and wiki.

Q: What is the thinnest book on your shelf?
A: Animal Farm, at 137 pages.

Q: What is the thickest book on your shelf?
A: City Of Heavenly Fire.

Q: Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?
A: I’ve had a few ideas, but I’m too lazy to put anything on the paper. I’ll do something eventually, but I have no dreams of being an author.

Q: When did you get into reading?
A: I got into reading around the fourth grade.

Q: What is your favorite classic book?
A: I haven’t read any of the classics besides Lord Of The Flies and Animal Farm, which I actually read for a class… and never finished. I feel really bad about it, but I’ll pick them up again soon. I’m going to try to read all the classics we have to read for school first, and then move onto the next.

Q: In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?
A: I think so. I wouldn’t call it my best, but it was definitely easier and better than the rest. 🙂

Q: If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?
A: I’d give it to my sister, and if she doesn’t like it, I’ll probably just give it away to Half Price Books or something like that.

Q: What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?
A: I would say the Iron Trial Series by Cassandra Clare and Holly Black. I haven’t read it yet, but I’ve heard that it was similar to Harry Potter.

Q: What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?
A: I tend to talk about myself a lot instead of actually commenting on the book.

Q: What is your favorite word?
A: I have no idea idea why, but I’ve always liked the word “nonchalant”, meaning casual.

Q: Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?
A: I don’t like any of these terms, but I have to say that I am all of the above. 😀

Q: Vampires or Fairies? Why?
A: Fairies. I just find them more interesting. Most fairy books have really complex worlds and diverse characters.

Q: Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?
A: Both! Angel books nowadays aren’t doing very well, but I still have hope, and shapeshifters are just too amazing.

Q: Spirits or Werewolves? Why?
A: Werevolves, they are so much more interesting.

Q: Zombies or Vampires?
A: Mmm… neither.

Q: Love Triangle or Forbidden Love
A: I detest love triangles, so forbidden love.

That’s it, guys! Hope you enjoyed this! I’ll be back with more soon. 🙂

-Haven

Leave a Reply

