Books

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, by Becky Albertalli

19547856

4.5 Stars

Ok, this book was all kinds of adorable. And, once again, I go into a cutesy romance novel expecting to hate it, and loved it. Why can I say? I’m a hopeless romantic. 😉

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda is a light, fun, LGBT romance novel. While it’s not particularily dark or twisted (like I usually prefer), it still manages to push some important values while being refreshingly different in certain ways.

The star of this book is without a doubt Simon. Other than the fact that he’s funny and adorable, he’s so dang relatable.  When I heard Harry Potter references like this, I just died from affection:

“It’s a dementor robe over my clothes. I think you’ll survive.”

“What’s a dementor?”

I mean, I can’t even. “Nora, you are no longer my sister.”

(And right now, my autocorrect is telling me ‘dementor’ is not a word, much to my dismay)

An extremely likable character such as this one combined with a cast of fun side characters made for a highly entertaining read. I especially appreciated that Simon’s family was extremely close and supportive, because unlike what YA usually leads us to believe, not all parents are abusive alcoholics who disown their children for being gay. Surprisingly, this was also one of the first books I’ve read that had to deal with “coming out”, and while it could have ended up very differently, I’m glad Simon’s story didn’t follow the endless spiral of depressing YA books into the abyss.

This book also depicts homophobia in the South, but it’s against the backdrop of an extremely sweet and hilarious romance, seamlessly knitting these two together for a great read.

Highly recommended for anyone not looking for a typical dark, depressing novel, and even for those that are, for we all need a break for a sweet, fun romance that is truly adorable.

~Liz

