Books, Original Post, Tag, YA Fiction

The Candy Book Tag

Hey guys! So, we were recently tagged by Betty at bettybookreviews to do the Candy Book Tag. It’s been a while since we’ve done a tag and this is a nice change from the usual posts we do. Thank you Betty! You can find her tag here.

Haven:

Apples – Ah. Healthy food. It’s deep, meaningful and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

7824322

This book remains to be hyped ever since its publication and has been awarded several times, but I honestly was not feeling it. WW2 stories are usually very emotional, and I was expecting to be moved somehow yet I never was. You can actually find my review of it here.

Milk Chocolate – This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

764347

Most of my friends often ran away when I recommended this book to them, but I am and have always been insistant nonetheless, and I’m sure Liz has been too. Words can’t explain how amazing and eye-opening this book is. Liz actually met Neal Shusterman somewhat recently, and documented her experience in an updated review of Unwind. You can find it here.

Black Jellybeans – Why do these exist??

11366397

I honestly despised this book after finishing it, but I rated it 2 stars because I was afraid of rating books 1 star back then (don’t ask). I need to have words with whoever published this though, for real.

Chocolate Kisses – Awww this novel had the best romance

18584855

There are a plethora of romances that I adore, and if I chose to narrow down my favorites out of a bunch of contemporaries, I would get nowhere. Heartless is a book I had read and reviewed recently, and I loved the romance so much. Peep my review here for more of my thoughts.

Gummy Spiders – Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

9378297

I haven’t read many horror-inspired YA books, and this is the only one I can think of. It’s a great book, though! I can’t say it scared me so much, but it does have a mysterious and creepy atmosphere (if you couldn’t tell already from that cover).

Jumbo Lollipop – This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

30095464

The Bone Witch took me a damn century to get through, and while I’m still not completely sold on it, there were a lot of redeeming qualities. Check out my review here.

Cotton Candy – Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

890143

Don’t judge me guys, but The Clique series was my favorite thing ever back in the day. It was perfectly petty in my opinion, and made for great entertainment. I would probably hate it if I read it now, but it’s still special to me.

Aliza: 

Apples – Ah. Healthy food. It’s deep, meaningful and probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

13477676

Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock has been acclaimed by famous Goodreads reviewers, and I expected to cry a lot while reading it, but overall thought the experience while reading it was just meh. This was one of my first ever reviews, and I don’t remember it that much, but hey, it wasn’t my cup of tea.

Milk Chocolate – This is a book you’d recommend to absolutely EVERYONE.

23437156

Haven is going to sigh from a lack of surprise, but Six of Crows. Duh. I love this book more than anything at the moment, because it has awesome world-building, awesome characters, feminism, and the best anti-hero for a lead character. Ever.

Black Jellybeans – Why do these exist??

22171558

Hey, I like the black licorice-flavored jellybeans (but am apparently the only one). I seriously agree with Haven’s pick for this tag, but my book is Twisted Fate. Man, is it terrible. Plot holes galore, pointlessness, it was the whole package of bad.

Chocolate Kisses – Awww this novel had the best romance

13138635

I read way too many cheesy romance novels (more than I care to admit) and These Broken Stars, despite being as cliche a romance as it can get, made its way onto my “favorites” shelf. I love these star-crossed lovers so much. ❤

Gummy Spiders – Eek! You made sure to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

7766027

I Hunt Killers is one of the very few YA horror books I’ve read, but it was great – the complexity of characters made this a standout. The creepiness of this books lies in the way Barry Lyga does not shy away from gruesome descriptions and deep delving into the minds of the serial killers.

Jumbo Lollipop – This took you forever to get through, but hey! You did it!

231804

The Outsiders was a required-reading book in 7th grade, but I never read it because I moved that year. My sister read it this year though, and after her incessant pushing, I finally picked it up. I get that it’s a classic and all, and also a very short book, but it just took me wayyy too long to get through it.

Cotton Candy – Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

28187

Agh, I’m a cliche. I just didn’t read many uncommon book series’ when I was younger, but Percy Jackson holds a special place in my heart. (Even though I quit on the Camp Half Blood Books lately because there were WAY too many of them).

We Tag:

Book Princess Reviews

The Book Cover Girls

Thanks for reading, guys! 🙂

